Day 4: Spirit Animal

I took a little quiz to find out what my spirit animal is and as I was answering the questions I kept over analyzing my responses. One of the questions that really gave me pause was, “I like being impressive to others,” and as I was checking the box “very accurate” I thought to myself I think that may be one of my biggest problems.

We tell children to be themselves and to try not to be concerned with what others think, but it super hard to follow that advice. I’m constantly worried about what others think and that bothers me. The core of me aches with that knowledge. So along with the other goals I’ve set for this year I’m going to add, fuck everyone else.

Instead of just pretending I don’t care what anyone else thinks I’m going to tell myself their opinion doesn’t matter and really mean it. I will not beg for anyone’s approval nor will I go out of my way trying to earn it because at the end of the day the only person who matters is me.

I am the one who has to live with myself. I’ll be with me for the rest of my life, so I need to be okay with who I am and stop asking everyone else if they’re okay with who I am. For the most part I love who I am, but I’ve still got some growing up to do and that I’m going to change as I grow.

Now I am not saying that I’m going to becoming unconcerned with the feelings of others, I’m not a heartless bitch. I would never do something that would hurt someone else, it’s just basic manners there; do unto others as you would have them do unto you. It’s just that too much of my life up to this point has been about pleasing others and sacrificing what I want or what I need to be happy. So henceforth Chelsea is going to worry about what Chelsea needs and you can worry about what you need and we will all just get along.

Last night I had a visit from a friend who asked me what made me decide to start this blog and since my little revelation during my spirit animal quiz I’ve had to ask myself if I was doing this for approval. The answer is no, I’m not looking for approval from anyone, but myself. I started this blog because I’m trying to make myself accountable for my life, by detailing out my day/confessing my inner most thoughts I hope to figure out what makes me most happy and on the other had what makes me unhappy. That way I can do more of the things that make me happy and less of the other.

If you approve cool, if not also cool. Live a life that feels authentic to you and I’ll live the life that feels authentic to me.

Now that we’ve got that out of the way I’ll tell you my spirit animal. Apparently it’s an owl. Which makes complete sense because I frequently hoot, love the night, can turn my head 180°, and often wonder how many licks it takes to get to the center of totsie pop, but before I get the answer bite into the yummy center. Okay, only 3 of those things are true, I’ll let you wonder which.

According the quiz the reason my spirit animal is an owl and they gave me the following information.

If the Owl is your spirit animal it is time for you to accept your innate wisdom and begin to embrace change for yourself and to help others do the same.

Primary Meanings

Wisdom
Intuition
True reality
Change
Death
The Owl is deeply connected with the wisdom and intuitive knowledge of life and death.

The Owl possesses the ability to see beyond illusion or deceit to what is the true reality of things.

​And chances are the meaning of the Owl resonates with you, which is a good sign that the Owl is one of your spirit animals.

If you are wondering why you got the Owl, remember that there is always something to be learned from every animal. They each have a gift, if you are open to receiving it!

Remember also that this quiz is not absolute, it is but one tool. Only you can say for certain which is your spirit animal.

Also, people often have more than one animal and indeed your spirit animal guides will shift over time as you change and evolve as a person.

I obtained this information from:
http://www.spiritanimal.info/spirit-animal-quiz/

If you’re interested in finding out what this quiz thinks your spirit animal is follow the link and take the quiz. Or you can decide for yourself what your spirit animal is, mine is Miss Piggy. She’s fierce, bossy, and doesn’t give a shit about what anyone else thinks. Also, I love her.

I’d love to hear what your spirit animal is, whether it’s from the quiz or the one you’ve come up with yourself.

Well I have to go and prepare myself, I’m going walkng today with a friend after she gets off work. Hopefully I don’t die. Just kidding, I’m physical able to walk, I can even run in short burst as long as I’m chasing something.

Caloric intake: 1,276 (factoring in what I’m planning on having for dinner.
Calories burned: 417 (if we walk 1 hour at a 3 MPH pace)

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild.
Chels AKA A Crazy Dame

3 thoughts on “Day 4: Spirit Animal

Leave a Reply

