Day 79: Time Waster

I spent about 85% of my day on YouTube today. I wish that was an exaggeration. It started out innocently enough, I saw a cute DIY and somehow that turned into me watching people vlog about being vegans for the entirety of my day.

This is not the first time I’ve wasted an entire day just watching videos that don’t have anything to do with my current interests. Let’s pretend it’s a knowledge thing, I get curious about a subject and then binge watch videos about it to learn all I can about a fascinating subject. But honestly vegans are kind of against the way I’ve lived all of my 26 years, so why the hell would I want to learn more about them? Probably the same reason I find religion fascinating, I like to learn new things about things that challenge my own beliefs.

Let me just reassure you that nothing I learned today made me change my mind about being a meat eater. I grew up in the country and when you grow up a country mouse you know good and we’ll where your meals come from. I never had a devestating moment in my life where I learned where meat came from, I already knew. I watched videos over the meat industry in all my AG classes from middle school on up, I’ve even butchered a few animals myself. Not an overly traumatic experience, wasn’t pleasant, but didn’t turn me into a vegetarian.

I consider myself an animal lover, though some of the people I watched today say that meat eaters cannot possibly love animals. I squeal when I see baby pigs, I’ve wanted one for a pet for as long as I’ve known what a pig was, and I’ve been exposed to all types of animals from my experience as a Vet Tech as well as through my school’s AG program. My brother raised pigs in FFA and I played with every single one knowing full well that it would one day turn into delicious bacon.

I’m friends with a vegetarian and she’s never once tried to make me feel bad about being a meat eater and I’ve never tried to convince her that meat is the way to go. We forget, or just overlook and ignore, the fact that everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Hey if eating only plants makes you happy go for it, if mixing meat in with your veggies makes you happy way to go ominovore, if you prefer a full meat diet cool, and if you want to eat chicken poop who the hell am I to say that you shouldn’t?  As long as you’re content in your life and healthy keep on living it. If you’re not happy figure out what you need to change to get there.

For me, the vegan videos opened my eyes to all the fruit and veggie possibilities I’m currently not experiencing. I need to broaden my horizons, so this week when it’s time to grocery shop I’m going to grab some things I’ve never had before and some that I think I don’t like and try to find some new yummy choices for myself.

Caloric intake: 1,497
Calories burned: 0

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!
Chels

Leave a Reply

