Day 85: Deep (I should have known)

Last night I finished one of the books I bought, Deep by Skye Warren. I would have finished it sooner, but after starting it Tuesday night I had to set it aside after just a few chapters and I couldn’t bring myself to pick it back up until last night. I only did that because I hate an unfinished story, even if it a truly terrible story.

I’m just not even going to read the other one. The first was just so awful I could not subject myself to reading another book by the same person.

Let me start by saying I am by no means an editorial critic, but I am an avid reader, so I’m going to tell you about this terrible book and hope you don’t read it to see if I was wrong.

First the characters were so unlikable that I honestly was rooting for them to just die. The female lead was just a weepy confused mess of a person who had no idea how to freaking do anything. The writer kept trying to make you think this was a strong girl who had overcome obstacles, but she was just a whiny little bitch. Her everything circled around the fact that she didn’t “belong” in her family because she was adopted and her adoptive parents had a child of their own after she was born, somehow that made her whole world fall apart. I get that finding out that you’re adopted can be jarring, but this child, she was in the 4th grade if I’m not mistaken, immediately took that to mean she didn’t belong with them anymore and became a rebellious child.

Just to interject a little personal history of mine, when I was roughly the same age, if not a little younger, I found out that the person I thought was by birth father was in fact not my birth father. I was sad, but he had raised me as his own, so I understood that my father loved me and that was all that mattered to 10 year old Chelsea. I’ve lived the greater portion of my life knowing that my younger siblings had both of their parents, but guess what so did I. I didn’t start partying at 15, doing drugs, or staying out at clubs all night to try and get my parents attention. I will admit I’ve always had a little voice in the back of my head that’s told me that I was different than my siblings, but never have I treated them like they weren’t my family or sought attention from others because my mommy and daddy had other children.

I think that may have been the worst part of this book, you want your lead character to seem strong, stop making her act like like a petty child and keep forcing the phrase, “you’re the strongest woman I know,” down my throat when that’s certainly not freaking true.

Because the whiny girl has this sense of not belonging, she often repeats a phrase that was told to her during her elemterary school years, “This is where you come from. This is who you are.” Her inner monolgues are plagued with that exact statement and her feeling sorry for herself because she doesn’t know where she came from.

Moving on to the lead male, he’s just a very fucked up crime lord who wants to possess a girl he met when she was 15. He stalks this kid, follows her through her life from afar waiting to take her, and I mean take in the purest of fashion. When he finally comes to “claim” her, it means he snatches her from her life and tells her numerous times he has no intention of letting her ever leave. Not in the romantic sense of I can’t live without you by my side, he tells this dumb girl that he wants to keep her locked up away from everyone else because he doesn’t even want anyone else to look at her, he even actually does lock her up in his room at one point. When the hell did that become romantic? If someone said that to me I would back away slowly with a placating smile on my face and then run for my sister’s house because she’s armed to the teeth. To our “heroine”, I’m using that term sarcastically, this sounds wonderful, she’s only mildly disturbed by his profession because she’s so desperate to belong somewhere.

This is a girl who was going to college, living a normal, as normal as you can live when you’re equally obsessed with an obvious psychopath, and this man (he was already 30ish when they met, she was 15 at the time…so now he’s roughly 33ish and she’s 18 ish) comes into your home bleeding from a knife attack and you just dry hump him (not exaggerating) and then let him carry you away from your life. Again, I would be calling my sister to bring a few guns over while telling the bleeding man I had already called the police in the hopes he would leave, I’d call my sister first that crazy bitch doesn’t know what a speed limit is, she’d get here faster.

I just had to leaf back through the pages of the offending text, because I couldn’t even tell you what these two people looked like. I couldn’t remember their appearance and the sad thing is that she does nothing to flesh these people out. The only thing you know about Claire/Ella (the confused child our book is about) is that she has olive skin, dark hair, dark eyes, and smallish breasts…that’s it. Phillip’s appearance is even more elusive, I don’t even remember ever reading what color his stupid eyes were, you just know he’s big, strong, and has some kind of tattoo on his chest. Where did this new fad of making your characters faceless come from? I get that you want the reader to put themselves in the heroines place, but come the fuck on, at least give me a description of who I’m letting torture me. All of the characters throughout the book are only loosely described, you get like one characteristic per person. I suppose that’s why it’s written in the first person, she wants the reader to read as though they are Ella, but I can assure you Ella is the last freaking person on earth I want to ever be. Call me old fashioned, but I’d much rather read a love story about two people I can imagine in my mind eye’s because I’ve been given facial/body characteristics rather than try to pretend I’m a whiny little bitch getting screwed by a crazy man.

I didn’t feel like either of these characters had the depth the writer kept trying to make you think they had. I don’t even know what to do with these books now. I could burn them…I may be doing the world a service by taking at least one copy of these awful books out of the world…hmm not a bad idea.

The central conflict comes into play when she calls her parents to know she’s fine because the crazy persons she’s in love with held her at gun point  in a hostage situation to help him get away, she finds out her brother has been kidnapped and she now has to ask Phillip (psychopath millionaire/crime lord) to help her get him back. He agrees and then fucks her (his words) as a down payment because she’s now going to have to pay for her brothers freedom with her body. Ummmm, does that sound like a healthy relationship?

He tells her several times that she is his property and he is free to do whatever he wants to her whenever he wants. He ejaculates inside her without her permission and actually against her will at a couple of points, are we promoting a new form of rape now? Why in the hell would a man telling you that he was going to make you “round with his seed,” be something you wanted to hear? More over what kind of message does that send, hey guys it’s  romantic when you don’t use a condom even though a girl asks you too, she really just wants you to knock her up she’s just playing hard to get? What the hell?

After saving her brother, fucking her in a tunnel, even though she clearly says no, he leaves her and honestly that was the best part of the book. I felt relief for a brief moment because the crazy asshole may actually leave her alone. But then we get a scene of the girl being upset because she wasn’t pregnant with his child, she actually cried when he refused to ejaculate inside her during their tunnel session. She wanted to be pregnant because she figured that he would come back for her if she was carrying his child.

Now that I think about it, most of their sexual encounters were very one sided. Of course he made sure that she got hers, but she never once actively participates in their interludes. The last scene of the book she kisses his chest for the first time, you know it’s the first time because she tells you so. Yet another example of this “strong” woman just letting him use and abuse her body, by the time this scene comes around she’s already pregnant and they’ve been back together for weeks if not months.

Lucky for her he comes back even though she’s not carrying his child, by the time I reached this part of the book I had rolled my eyes so many time my head was hurting. He comes back and professes that he has missed her while he was away and like the stupid, equally crazy bitch that she is she takes him back and they once again leave her entire life behind.

Apart from the convoluted plot the book was so choppy it was hard to follow. The characters would be having a conversation and then all of a sudden before anything definitive had been said it would just jump to the waking up the next day. It kept interweaving small things throughout the story that could have been established at the beginning, so they wouldn’t have to pop up at times that just didn’t make sense. It made me a bit nastalogic for this writing thing my friends and I use to do, we would develop our own character and then write their dialogue, lifes, and demise. We had these spirals that were constantly being passed back and forth so our characters could interact. When you tried to read it back as a whole text it became choppy because when someone was tired of writing they would just have their character go to sleep. Once I made mine drop dead just because I was bored.

Let me just reiterate, please whatever you do, do not read this terrible book. I mean unless you into that sort of total domination, no judgments here (totally judging) stay far away from this drivel.

Wow…I really hated this book. Oh man…I think I hate it even more because this woman is a New York Times Bestselling Author. She had some good moments, there were a few lines that made me go, oh that’s a great line, but it just made the rest of the terrible writing glaringly obvious.

If you have a book you’d like me to read and review just let me know below in the comments.

Caloric intake: 1,658
Calories burned: zilch

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!
Chels

Leave a Reply

