Day 124: Trunk to Table

Hello wild ones! Look what I completed today.

image

Oh how I love this coffee table. When I started this flip a couple of days ago I honestly didn’t expect it to come out this well. Of course I wanted it to be this great, but every time I am in the middle of a project I have moments of anxiety because something goes wrong. This one I had only minor moments of panic.

Months ago when I picked up this brown trunk for 10 dollars at my local flea market I didn’t really have a plan. The old man had 2 trunks that were in good condition, so I snatched them up. They’ve been sitting neglected in my garage collecting dust waiting for me to get my shit together and make them something beautiful. Of course I’ve had ideas about what to do with them, at one point I planned on just using them as side tables in my living room, but never made any effort to give them new life.

Then like fate last week it hit me, dammit Chelsea turn them into coffee tables!! Of course I still made no real move to start that transformation until after I watched an amazing video that DIY Dork did and he got me moving.

So I grabbed my brown trunk and got to work.

image

For this particular project I wanted to have a heavily distressed look, but I’m not a big fan of brown. In order to get the look I wanted I started by applying 2 thin coats of mineral chalk paint.

image

After my paint had dried I took some 150 grit sand paper and went to town sanding back the paint to make the texture of this piece pop. I also kept a wet rag handy to check my progress and with chalk paint water makes everything easier.

Painting the inside was easy, deciding on a color was not. Pink was considered. Yellow was a candidate. Green threw it’s hat into the race. 

image

But in the end turquoise won the race because I already had some handy.

image

Here’s the ugly brown that needed to be covered. I taped the edges off to keep the turquoise paint from getting all over to my beautiful mineral paint job.

image

Here’s after coat #1, the inside of the trunk got coats of the beautiful turquoise. After applying this color I was so glad my cheap side won the battle of the colors. It really pops against the demure outside. I’m a also a sucker for shades of blue.

image

image

While that was all drying I put a very thin coat of paint on the legs. These legs I picked up from Lowe’s while we were running around yesterday. If I’m not mistaken these legs were about $2.50 a piece and the corresponding straight plates were like a buck fifty.

In DIY Dork’s tutorial he screwed some little planks to the bottom for more stability.

image

I cut them down to 13″ and applied some super glue to anchor them down. I let that dry and then put 2 screws into each plank from the inside to make sure those bitches don’t ever go anywhere.

image

I covered said screws with some paint when I was all done, just for shits and giggles.

image

I placed my plates and marked where I would need to predrill my holes. Do it, I promise it makes life easier when you’re screwing nails in.

image

After that all I had to do was attach each plate and then screw in my legs. As you can see I did not bother painting the bottom of my trunk, you’re the only ones who will ever see it so what’s the point?

image

I applied 2 coats of poly to both the inside and the outside of the trunk. Poly was a much better choice over the usual wax I apply over chalk paint. It’s going to protect my beautiful table from my people and the dogs. Also, it really made the entire thing more beautiful, it made the colors more rich and bright.

image

After all that work I just had to let it sit for almost 24 hours to make sure the poly cured completely. Now it’s sitting pretty in my living room.

image

image

image

This was a successful project. Now we’ve got a little bit more room in the garage. Still have not finished the mirror coffee table, I need to put poly all over and let it dey, so I should be able to move it out tomorrow afternoon. I’m going to pop outside after I post this and apply the poly.

If you have any questions feel free to leave them below. Also, go check out DIY Dork’s videos and blog, he’s amazing.

http://diydork.com/how-to-make-a-vintage-trunk-table/

Caloric intake: 1,628
Calories burned: yea…not many

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!
Chels

2 thoughts on “Day 124: Trunk to Table

Leave a Reply

