Day 126: Stuck

Hey wild ones. The week is almost over, but my work week is just about to begin. Today’s post is going to be half commiserating over the seething hatred I have for my job and a quick talk about how I dyed my curtains.

Let’s get on with the more depressing half of our post. I really, really, really hate my job. I don’t like the people I work for/with, there is a small handful of exceptions. I’m unhappy just about every moment I’m there. There was a time when I reveled in my ability to sort out the problems of my work day, now I find no amount of joy or excitement when I’ve solved a problem. Dread creeps in slowly during my days off until I’ve got a knot of unrest within me on the last day.

What’s worse is there’s just no where for me to go. Not only are there no opportunities to move up in the company, but I make really good money doing what I do and in the small town where I reside there’s nothing better anywhere around. Money is the one thing that keeps me going and I think that’s part of what turns my stomach. I never thought growing up that my life would be fueled by money. When we were young didn’t we have dreams? I did. When I was young I wanted to be a singer, obviously my vocal talents are not strong enough to get me anywhere, so that dream died. Since then there have been countless other dreams that have also died.

The other part of my desolate existence that infuriates me is I put myself in this position. I could have stayed in college, bouncing around from major to major until I found something I enjoyed. Maybe by now I would have found something that made me happy and be working somewhere that I loved. A place that didn’t make me sick to my stomach to have to walk in the door.

This is one of those moments when I wish I would have listened to my mother.

As for my curtains…that was a huge fail. The dye didn’t take to the fabric, so I’m going to have to do some research and try again.

Here’s hoping the next 4 days fly by.

Caloric intake: 1,303
Calories burned: 1,528

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!
Chels

Leave a Reply

