Day 139: Baby Steps

Hello wild ones! It’s hump day, you’ve made it halfway through your week! Gold star for you.

The mid-century desk is coming along nicely. Didn’t get as far as I was hoping, but still made good progress. I have applied 2 coats of primer, lightly sanded, and then added 2 coats of the bright white paint I chose for the all over color. Tomorrow morning before I go to the gym I’ll finish the last little pieces that need to be white, mainly the feet because I couldn’t get to them and then start the real fun. I just made my brother and his friends flip the desk over on its top for me so that tomorrow I can get all those hard to reach areas covered.

I did pickup the tall dresser from storage! So tomorrow after the gym I’ll stop and grab the paint and a few other supplies I need so I can get started. If everything goes as planned, even as I’m saying that I know it won’t because it never does, I should be finishing both projects tomorrow night or Friday morning. Shooting for tomorrow night. I’d like to relax on Friday, but I’m going to earn that lounge time.

The legs have been added to the trunk table, but adding them created a small problem. The wood was not as strong as I originally thought, so some pieces broke off. Now the only way I can think of to salvage the project is to just line the bottom with a fun paper or maybe a map. It’s structurally sound, it just doesn’t look the greatest. Since I have to add paper to it I may end up switching mine out for the one that I’m working on. It will just make the paper selection less stressful. The paper I have in stock is all stuff I like, so I know if I line the inside of my trunk with it I’ll be happy, but I can’t say the same for everyone. Who knows, maybe it will turn out great.

The only other thing left to do for the trunk table is the create a stencil for the top. I’m thinking, “home sweet home.” Thoughts or suggestions are welcome. Lucky for me my sister has a circuit cutter and allows me to use it, so this weekend, or maybe Friday if everything else gets finished in time I’ll be designing the stencil and applying it to the top of which ever trunk I decide to sell.

Someone in my zumba class today told me that I’m someone they watch when they’re not sure what to do. My face got bright red and I stuttered out, “Oh you should not be doing that. I have no idea what I’m doing.” He assured me that I do in fact look like I know what I’m doing and that I do really well. He must be blind. Half the time I feel like a lost child just trying to keep up with the others.

I’ve got a gym date tomorrow morning with my sister at 9 am and I want to get an early start on the desk, so I’m going to call it a night folks. Sweet dreams!

Caloric intake: 1,346
Calories burned: 1,014

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!
Chels

Leave a Reply

