Day 149: Same Old Same Old

Hello wild ones! I hope you are enjoying your weekend, mine has come to an end. Tomorrow I go back to work.

Today was the same as yesterday, I didn’t get much of anything done. I started painting the roll top desk, which gave me a headache (I’ll explain in a moment), painted a side table that matches the 2 dressers, did laundry, loaded my car for drop off at the storage building, got in a solid hour at the gym, prepped lunch for 3 days and watched more old movies. We’re getting down to the wire now, so the next 4 days are going to be very busy.

Let’s talk about the roll top desk. I fell in love with it at the barn, but today in the full light of day I realized I made a mistake. The other roll top desk I redid was solid wood, I thought this one was too, boy oh boy was I wrong. It’s pressed wood, the whole fucking thing. I spent about 5 minutes berating myself for falling in love with the stupid drawers and not double checking that it was made of actual wood. Then another 5 minutes deciding whether or not I wanted to flip the desk. On the one hand I spent 100 dollars on the darn thing, so if I don’t sell it I’ll be wasting money. On the other hand I’m not sure I want to put this pressed wood nightmare out in the world with my name on it.

I started painting it and I figured if it comes out really nice maybe I’ll decide to take it. I applied 3 generous coats of gray chalk paint and it made me hate it even more. From a few feet away it looks wonderful, but then when you step in close you start to notice all the rough patches that I can’t fix and make it painfully obvious it’s not real wood. Now I’m trying to hide those flaws to see if I can redeem it enough to at least take it with me to show. I know it’s going to look pretty, it’s already starting too, I’m just not sure if it’s going to be enough to quite my doubt.

The only other things we have left to do for the market are my reclaimed wood signs. I’ll begin working on those Monday after work. I should be able to knock them all out in one evening. After that it’s just little things like making sure everything is packed, getting my price tags ready, making thank you cards or receipts.

Despite desk being a let down I’m still feeling really good about next week. I know I told you yesterday that you’d get to see the finished duckling box, but alas I did not get it painted today. Maybe I’ll take him with me to work, I’m going to have the office all to myself for 2 days so I will have plenty of time to get things done if needed.

I’m beat. This has been a very tiring set of days off. Tomorrow after work I’ll be stopping at the gym and then hitting the grocery store…yea maybe I won’t be able to get the desk finished tomorrow, shit. I’ll just be quick with my errands, if I manage to make it home before it gets dark then I’ll do what needs to be done otherwise it will have to be done Monday evening.

Enjoy your weekend! Have extra fun for me.

Caloric intake: 1,993
Calories burned: 1,207

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!
Chels

Leave a Reply

