Day 179: River Blues

Hello wild ones! I hope you had a good weekend and that you find yourself safe this Monday morning back at the grind.

It’s currently 3 am my time and I’ve been laying here for over 45 minutes now unable to fall back asleep. I’m just kind of biding my time until someone else wakes up, so I can go home.

Getting here was a major pain. My family and I are serial river trippers, we don’t mess around when it comes to heading out in search of a cool river to dunk ourselves into. So it’s frustrating when others are not up to our level or preparedness.

The plan was to leave S’s house yesterday at 10 am, which should have put us here around 12 pm give or take a few minutes. Since we had such a late start time I brought doughnuts because I knew I was hungry. After picking up said doughnuts I was informed we were stopping for breakfast…well hell.

We stopped and ate brunch (it was nearly 11 when we ate) and then had to stop again in Hondo to grocery shop. Seriously? 

We finally arrived at 2:30 pm only to be told that the cabins weren’t ready yet, which was not a big deal to me because hello, only 200 yards or so away the river was calling my name.

image

The water was amazing. It’s not called the Frio for nothing, but oh man if I could just live here I would.

We swam for about 2 hours and then it was finally time to check in, much to my chagrin we did not return to the river for the rest of the day.

After setting up camp we ate and then sat around talking. Due to the fact that I only got about 4 hours of sleep yesterday morning I was pooped out around 8. I was fighting to stay away, so I finally gave in around 9 and left everyone to finish their beer and crawled into the tiny bed S and I shared.

Now, I’m just lying here listening to the noises in our small cabin. S snoring softly, the air condition working double time to keep us cool, the wind against the side of the cabin, and some terrify scratching I keep telling myself is just the trees.

I feel shitty for hoping that no one sleeps in today. I don’t think I can just lay in this bed for another 4 – 5 hours, I’m not even 100% sure I can do it for 1 more hour. If the sun was already up I could at least go outside and just sit, but it’s probably still pitch ass black and I’m a damn chicken.

Despite the fact that I have a headache and can’t sleep; anytime I get to hit water it’s a good trip. Which is funny because I don’t know if I’ve ever told you that I’m terrified of water. That’s a discussion for another time.

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!
Chels

Leave a comment