Day 198: Religion

Hello wild ones! Hopefully you are enjoying your weekend thus far.

For a few months now I have been toying with the idea of writing a post about my religious views, but have held back because in my opinion religion is just one of those things you don’t talk about in mixed company. I tend to stay away from the topic out of courtesy to others and myself.

I am an atheist.Not a sentence I speak aloud often, actually I don’t know if I have ever actually said out loud that I am an atheist. I’ve said I was agnostic to save myself from the judgment of the people asking. You would not believe the look some people get when you admit that you don’t believe in their god. It’s like you’ve grown a third head all of a sudden.

Then you have idiots who don’t know anything that immediately start asking stupid questions like, “So you worship the devil?” And then I have to patiently explain that I don’t believe in the devil, so no I don’t worship the devil. This is one of the major reasons I don’t comment on religion, while I have the respect not to comment on their beliefs I am not shown the same courtesy. People think it is completely acceptable to tell me that I’m wrong, weird, dumb, or just going to hell. Usually I don’t reply, I just smile, nod, and then walk away vowing never to waste my time on that particular person ever again.

Now I want to give you some insight into me. My immediate family was never very religious, with the exception of my step father’s mother and sisters, they’re all catholic. I’ve attended more than my fair share of catholic masses as well as plenty of christian gatherings. But I knew from an early age that it wasn’t for me. I never felt any connection with a higher power and I spent my time in the pews trying to figure out how in the world people could believe such ridiculous stories.

I told my mother when I was 13 that I didn’t to attend church anymore because I did not believe in god, she of course freaked out. She forced me to go for a bit longer, but once I explained my beliefs she let it go, I think she still freaks out about it sometimes, but she has come to understand my beliefs and let me be. Of course she blamed me when my brother revealed that he no longer wanted to go to church because he didn’t believe in god. We just don’t talk about religion in my family.

I say bless you when people sneeze. It has nothing to do with me thinking that by me saying bless you that you’re going to heaven or whatever, it’s just good manners. Also, I’ve always been fascinated by the thought that people once actually thought that when you sneezed a part of your soul was being released. I have never been offended when someone says bless you to me either, I usually smile and say thank you. I just like when people are nice to others.

I live a moral life. Not because I think one day I am going to be rewarded, but because it is the right thing to do. Typically I just live by the rule, do unto others as you would have them do unto you, it’s just a good rule. We should all just be a little more accepting of others.

The bible has some pretty parts. While I’ve never read the entire thing, hmm maybe I should because religion fascinates me, I know I’ve seen some very lovely quotes come out of the text. Lately, I’ve been pinning some of those lovely quotes without even realizing that they are from the bible.

So now you know something about me that only my closest friends and family know. Do what you will with said knowledge, I’ve got to get back to work.

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels 

 

Leave a Reply

