Day 200: Woah

Hello wild ones! Once again I acted like sleeping beauty today, slept right through all of my alarms right up until 7 pm. Wow.
20160718_223514

Of course since I once again slept the day away I missed zumba disappointing, but we are used to disappointment by now right. Anyway, the china cabinet project is finally finished!

20160718_232913.jpg

YAY! You’ll notice that the books have been moved from the living room into the kitchen. That’s because I am toying with the idea of getting rid of the movie shelf in the living room all together and I wanted to make sure my books would fit in the china cabinet. This will not be there forever home because how much sense does it make to have my books in my kitchen? None, because not a one of them are cook books.

Alright, let’s jump into the redo, so I can get this posted on time. 20160715_21492420160715_214938.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is what we started with. I bought this cabinet from a friend years back for $75 and it’s just been hanging about since then. I wasn’t sure what to do with it, so up until I decided to finally redo the darn thing it had been living in the kitchen holding all the junk of my life. I probably should have taken a picture of that so you could see the chaotic mess that is my life.

 

To start off with I took the door off. Once upon a time it had a really pretty wood design over the glass, but it broke and has not looked the same since. Also, I wanted to be able to see what was inside without the glass being in the way. Deciding that the door needed to go meant I had holes to fill, so I did that.

20160715_220200.jpg

With this piece I didn’t go around looking for places that need repair, there are a few, but I think it kind of gives it more character (except for the part Lois just chewed up. Of course that little brat would wait until I was just about done with the piece to destroy part of it).

This is the paint mixture I used, 1 part white chalk paint to 1 part yellow paint. I wanted a semi chalk/flat paint and the best way to get the color I wanted with the finish I was after was to just mix these two paints.

20160715_234839.jpg

Isn’t this yellow so yummy? It reminds me of lemons.

20160716_013632.jpg20160716_051612Coat number one went off without a hitch, although I was worried about how many coats I was going to have to do to get the opaque yellow I was after. Turned out I had to do 3 regular coats and 1 lighter to get close to the pay off I was after.

20160716_051627.jpg

The drawer got the same treatment as the rest of the piece and then of course I painted the sides of the drawer white just to give it a little contrast. Our drawer pulls were originally a brassy color, so they got a coat of black paint and reattached.

 

I could go back in and add one more coat, but for now it will work. I’m still toying with the idea of maybe going back and distressing it a bit, which is why I didn’t seal my paint just yet.

I’m going to let it live in the space for a bit to help me decide if I think I need to go back and reveal some of the wood beneath.

 

Alrighty, gotta wrap this all up because we are down to our last 20 minutes before midnight. If you have any questions please leave them below. I’m going to start meal prepping here shortly, so I’m still planning on having that as tomorrow’s blog post and possibly some pictures of my kitchen lay out now that the china cabinet is back.

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

2 thoughts on “Day 200: Woah

Leave a Reply

