Day 205: Fuckin Strawberries

Hello wild ones! I hope your Saturday is going well. I’m posting early today because there’s a pool party this evening I’ve been invited to and I’d hate to forget about you. 

Without the epic failure that is my life right now I wouldn’t even have a post from you, but luckily I suck at things.

Today I attempted to dry out strawberries in my oven. I’ve seen all the Pinterest posts about drying fruit in the oven and thought, hey that looks easy enough, so today was the day I was going to make my own dried strawberries. 

This is a picture of my hopeful little strawberries when they first went into the oven. So full of promise and excitement. It didn’t occur to me at the time that I should have cut them into smaller pieces, if it had maybe I would be munching out on some delicious dried strawberries, but alas I’m an idiot. 

About 2.5 hours into their supposed 3 hour cooking process I started to get very sleepy, so I checked them and the just looked like hot strawberries. Some of them had puffed up, others looked a little brown on the outside, but none of them looked dry. 

I consulted the all mighty Pinterest and discovered that I should have obviously cut them at least in half before throwing them in the oven. Shit. I jumped up, pulled them out, and cut each little lump in half and spread them around. 

It was at this point I was seriously starting to lag, like to the point that I laid down in my bed and set an alarm for 1 hour. Yelling myself that as long as I knew I had to be up in an hour I wouldn’t fall into a deep sleep. Well dear friends I never heard that alarm. I didn’t wake up until 2:30 pm and this is what I awoke to…

Charred scabs that used to be strawberries. How sad they look. Hey. doesn’t the mushy parchment paper in the bottom right hand corner look like a very unhappy man with a mustache? Hmm, he looks disappointed in me, as he should be. 

At least I lined my pan with parchment paper so this failed experiment would clean up easily…yeah not so much.

The parchment paper stuck to the pan, I think maybe when I sliced those dang strawberries I cut to deep. Now I have to deal with that mess. Eh, maybe I’ll just throw the pan away and pretend this day never went so horribly awry. 

I want to learn from this sad failure, so after the pool party I will be going to get more strawberries and try again. Please cross your fingers that I learned enough not to fail so miserably again.

Thank you and good night. 

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

Leave a Reply

