Day 207: New Munchies

Hello wild ones! I hope your Monday was productive and maybe just a bit fun. 

Mine may not have been a bundle of laughs, but it was productive. I got my car switched into my name, had lunch with my mom and brother, and then napped. Now I’m cooking my food for my work week. 

Here’s the part where I give you an explanation for last night’s brief and uninformative post. I was playing volleyball at Sonic. I’ve been dying to play lately, but can’t ever get my brother to go with me and we all know I don’t have friends, so yesterday when I asked my family if they would go play I was elated when they said yes. After dinner with my sister we hit Sonic and played beach ball for 3.5 hours, 4 straight games. I was dying, but having so much fun. 

I am sorry that my post was awfully short, but I’m not sorry that for the first time my post was short because I was actually out living. My post sucked because I was taking a little breather (well actually I was ducking down water trying to catch my breath so I wouldn’t die) and realized it was approaching 12 am very rapidly, so I popped a little post out before I ran out of time and then hit the court again.

Again, I’m not sorry that I was out having fun, I am sorry that my post was brief. Now that explanations are out of the way, let’s move on. 

All the new things I’m trying have been GREAT! Firstly, I pickled my own motha fuckin onions! 

What up?! I found a pin about pickling onions on Pinterest and thought, huh maybe I could try that. I need something crunchy and zesty to add to the salad I’m planning on having for lunches it’s work week, so I got the supplies and went to town. I cut up an entire red onion and 1 jalapeño for my jar, stacked the onions, and then added my pickling solution (1 cup apple cider vinegar, 1 cup of water, and 2 tablespoons of sugar)

I have never been a fan of onions. Don’t like the way the smell, taste, or look (OK maybe not look, I’m just trying to be extra dramatic). But I thought hey, why not at least try. Oh man, I’m so glad I did. They are soooo good. Tangy, spicy, sweet, and just a hint of onion. 

If you wanna check out the blog where I found the directions you can click here.

Now I wanna try pickling everything!

Another new thing are these pita pockets.I stuffed mine with peppered turkey, pepper jack cheese, pickled onions, pickled jalapeños, mustand, bacon and aragula. My goodness. How did I not know about these delicious things before?! Who has been keeping this information from me?! Imma eat these damn things everyday. 

Lastly I made vegan brownies. What?! Vegan brownies for the carnivore? Well, my sweet tooth gets me into trouble sometimes, okay all the time, so I’ve been searching for healthier options to appease the monster that is my cravings. Vegan brownies seemed to be a good option. 

They were good warm, the post I got the recipe from said there even better cold, but I have yet to put that to the test. Hopefully tonight I’ll remedy that while I’m packing them up for work. I kind of fudged up the recipe a pit, but they still came out great. 

Coincidentally the blog the recipe is from is Chelsea’s Messy Apron, how funny is that? The original recipe can be found here. 

Testing some new recipes tonight too, so tomorrow I’ll have some more things to tell you about tomorrow. For now I’m going to put my feet up while my chicken cools and watch Charmed with the puppies.

Have a good night kids!

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

Leave a Reply

