Day 216: Landslide

Hello wild ones! How ya doin today kids? I ordered a book on Monday night that was supposed to be here today, but it did not arrive before I left for work, so I am not doing as well as I hoped.

Fingers crossed that my dang book gets here this evening. I am dying to read this particular book…even though I’ve probably read it at least 3-4 times in the past.

Maybe all of this rereading is just nostalgia. All of the books that I’ve read these past 2 nights are books I read in high school, of course they were not assigned, and that could very well be the reason I am so attached to them.

I seriously need new books though. I reread a book from my library and kept rolling my eyes and asking myself what the hell I ever saw in the blasted thing. Apparently past Chelsea really liked it though because I have several other books from the same series…there’s no accounting for taste sometimes I guess.

Caught a glimpse of my scale peeking out from under my bed this afternoon, so I grabbed it and weighed myself. Curiosity is such a dangerous thing, luckily for me my renewed faith in meal planning has paid off. I’ve lost 7 pounds since my last weighing, which was just a little over a week ago. I know it’s just the food I have been eating because I still have not replaced my stupid shoes, so I have been remiss in my gym time.

I may have to sacrifice some of my sleep time Friday so that I can go find a pair of shoes. S invited me to the pump class she attends on Saturday morning, so I have to have new shoes by then. Really not looking forward to that class…it’s been a long while since I have lifted weights with such intensity. She’s been warned to have an oxygen tank at the ready just in case.

Alright, lets go over this weeks menu very quickly just because I did make a new dish.

Crock Pot Honey Garlic Chicken, the recipe for which I found here.

IMG_20160803_181534.jpg

Just realized that this is not the most appetizing photo…sorry. It was delicious though. I followed this recipe almost to the letter, though I did leave out the sesame seeds and I doubled everything because I had to make enough chicken for Wyatt to also have lunches this week.

IMG_20160801_022201.jpg

Here are 3 days work of lunch and dinner. On the left we have the honey garlic chicken thigh served with brown rice (I don’t know why it looks so dang white), and broccoli. To the right we’ve got rosemary chicken served with red potatoes and asparagus.

I may be a little obsessed with the rosemary chicken. This go around I let the chicken sit in a bag with all the yummy ingredients for a couple of hours before cooking and made one extra chicken breast for my pita pockets. I should have made more. The rosemary chicken was the perfect ingredient for my pita pocket. When I meal prep Saturday I may end up just making a butt load of the rosemary chicken and only eating pita pockets for the week.

Also on our menu this week are jars of Greek vanilla yogurt infused with honey for breakfast (1 cup for each day), 2 jars have blueberries added to them and the other two I am planning on adding a little granola just to give me some crunch. Pita pockets with a side salad for lunch. Celery with peanut butter for a snack also in a jar because along with pita pockets, feta cheese, and rosemary chicken I am obsessed with packing my lunches using mason jars.

Mason jars just make life easier, expect in the case of eating my snack. My hands are just a little too big to try and scoop the peanut butter out using the celery, so I’ve had to use a knife or spoon to get all the yummy goodness.  Totally makes life easier, plus it ensures I get a better celery to peanut butter ratio.

Pandora has been killin the music selection today. In the wee hours of this morning I had to keep putting down the book I was reading because Pandora was playing songs I just had to sing along too. Not an exaggeration in the slightest, my one of favorite songs came on twice and both times I had to throw my book down and just listen because I cannot explain it, but Landslide gets me every damn time. It doesn’t matter if it’s Fleetwood Mac’s original, the cover done by the Dixie Chicks, or the Glee version, I get the same chills. I think my favorite though is when they que up Stevie Nicks’ live performance. I swear I feel my heart swell and tears start to form.

Oh man. Alright, I seriously have work I am supposed to be getting done tonight, so I need to get to it because I have a book in my bag waiting to be read as well. Night!

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

Leave a Reply

