Day 273: What in Tarnations?!

Hello wild ones! Have you ever been reading a book and you come across something that compels you to push the book aside?

I will admit it happens more than I’d like. Sometimes when a character does something I think is ridiculous or there is some plot twist that makes absolutely no sense I have been known to push a book aside. Only ever for a few moments though. Constantly hungry for the rest of the tale, no matter how terrible it is, I forge on. However, there have been a few times when something has happened that makes me want to put a book down and never pick it up again, the rest of the story be dammed.

That particular phenomenon just occurred. I have been reading Rise of the Defender by Kathryn Leveque and for a little while now I have been battling making myself continue to read it although the characters were not that compelling. This is the third book I have read of Kathryn’s and while I did have some issues with the other two I was able to get through them and I guess like them enough to keep reading her material. I guess I just like to study the way someone’s style evolves throughout their work. I don’t know if I have ever mentioned that I’ve read just about every single book written by Susan Andersen and Julie Garwood, and Susan is probably my favorite contemporary author. Reading her first couple of novels though gave me great insight on how she changed over her career. Truthfully, if I had read her first couple of novels first I may not have taken the head first dive into her other works. But because I found one book I really loved I read another, and then another, and then another, and then another, and though all of her works are not the brilliant shining gem my favorite is they are all at the very least good. For that reason I have been trying to not let one bad book sour an entire career.

I’m getting away from the point I was trying to make…sorry. So, back to my outrage. Kathryn just did something in her novel that made me put my phone down (reading on my Kindle App has become an unhealthy obsession someone please pry this damn phone from my hands and give me back a book) and push it as far away from me as I could. I’m not ever particularly happy when anyone makes a character so desirable that every single freaking male in the story wants to get a piece of her, in this case it is making me downright sick. Like who the hell is so wonderful that every person with a penis between their legs is chasing after them with their tongue hanging out?

Our leading lady, Dustin, has been married for months now to a handsome, knight Christopher, and it seems every freaking male around them has become infatuated with her. That makes me roll my eyes, but it is something I can get past. I even kept reading when one such gentlemen who has become smitten with her kisses her in the middle of a tavern. They both are consumed with guilt, blah, blah, blah and Dustin ends up confessing to her husband because she feels so terrible about the situation.

Somehow they get past the scandal, though I have to admit it was kind of brushed off a little too easily. The male, Marcus, is contrite and promises her husband that he would never do anything again and that he knows Dustin loves her husband…now we skip ahead and Marcus has been battling his feelings for the little lady and she is angry at him (blaming him for the loss of her child…she fell down some stairs after speaking to him and consequently has a miscarriage) so he goes into her bed chamber to talk to her about her animosity towards him and ends up raping her.

She is sleeping naked in the bed and while he is trying to wake her he starts stroking her skin and then in a fever they begin making love, now of course in the dark ass chamber she can’t see him, so Kathryn leads us to believe that Dustin thinks he is her husband. So there’s no angry words, rebuttal on her part, or anything other than a fevered roll in the hay.

I put the book down as soon as the rape started because it left a sour taste in my mouth. Marcus has been sworn to protect this lady and has done so without fail for half the damn book. Time after time he has saved her from attack or come to her aid when necessary and in a moment he decides that instead of protecting her he should fall upon her have his wicked way with her. I gave the book the benefit of the doubt and resumed my reading. Only to put the damn thing back down as soon as her husband joins her in bed and she realizes that Marcus is the one she slept with and not her husband. Like hello bitch tell your husband that you just got freaking raped. This is a serious issue, but instead of telling him what happened she lets him dismiss it has her having an erotic dream about him and they go about their business.

After a few moments I picked the book back up again and thought, you know what let’s just finish this shit so we know what happens, but after another few minutes when Dustin and her husband finally reunite their bodies (they were told not to have relations for at least 7 weeks due to her miscarriage) I could not read any further. Marcus has disappeared, and everyone keeps asking where the heck he is, but still Dustin does not tell her husband that he probably ran for fear of his life after raping her.

Ordinarily I would probably pick the damn book back up again and resign myself to finishing because I hate to leave a story undone, but this time I refuse to keep reading. This particular book is 724 pages (in the Kindle App) and I am only on page 407, I cannot make myself read another 300 pages. I cannot and I will not.

Now with only 45 minutes left at work I have to delete the book from my app because I cannot bear to look at the cover of the dumb book and hope I can find something else to read…well actually I guess I should take a break. There’s only a little bit of work left for me to get through and then I’ll be going home. It would probably be a good idea for me to just go to sleep when I get home instead of staying awake to read…oh goodness. However…I know I have to find something to read to shake off this terrible crap. Perhaps I should just grab one of my favs to help me forget this shit. UGH!!

Wishing you a terrific Thursday, your ever faithful book monster. Hey for a change I get to say good morning instead of good night! Morning kids!!

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

One thought on “Day 273: What in Tarnations?!

  1. I.just.died….Only in the best way. I’m telling you we are meant to be blog besties. I own and love every single Julie Garwood book. She ruined my for other historical series. I also totally chunked a book the other day that just ran in circles that it gave me vertigo!!! I can’t lie I kinda wanna know where old dude ran to, if it wasn’t the mountains lol!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

