Day 299: Hairy Situation

Hello wild ones! Back to the grind for me…I’m sure I’ll get no sympathy from those of you who have already been back to work for two days now, but I’m back behind my soul sucking desk. Okay soul sucking is obviously a bit over the top, but so is just about everything else about me.

I did not manage to get my house cleaned this week, shocker I know. I guess after volleyball last night I was just a bit to worn out and sore to try and make myself care that my house needs to be swept and mopped. Didn’t exactly get my chicken stir fry made either, but I’ve got enough pot roast to have it for lunch for the next three days, so it will do for now. And while we are talking about the things I didn’t get done yesterday, I also didn’t sort through my shoes like I planned. Wow Chels…what the hell did you do last night? The same dang thing I do most nights, read, contemplate life, and talk to my dogs even though they just ignore me.

One of the things I’ve been thinking about probably a bit too much lately is my hair. I know, what a silly thing to waste time thinking about, but for the past two days I’ve been staring back at my reflection wondering where in the hell I went. I’ve been blonde or some shade of purple or silver for just about 2 years now and it just doesn’t feel like me. My hair is dry, brittle, on a good day it’s still not all that smooth or silky like it used to be and the color just doesn’t look like me anymore.

I’ve never been particularly edgy or that level of cool that gives off a rocker vibe, despite the tattoos and purple hair. That may very well be the biggest reason behind my hair transformation in the first place. In high school my hair was just regular brown, I dyed it all the time to cover the premature grey that was always sprouting up, but other than that I didn’t really branch out until after high school. In college I dye the underneath of my hair pink for a semester and then when I moved back home it was black all the way. I’m a pale ass girl, so the black worked, made my eyes pop and all that jazz, but then I found someone willing to help me get rid of the black and achieve my blonde hair goals. It took FOREVER. But I got there and now that I’ve been part of the crazy hair club for the better part of 2 years I find myself wondering why I thought I needed to have crazy hair to begin with.

So, I told M yesterday that I was ready to go back to brown and when she asked why I gave her the simple answer. I’m tired of having hair that is brittle, dry, and damaged. And while that is true I think the better answer would have been, I’m just ready to be me, to be real. Maybe I was running, thinking that just because my hair was brown it meant I was boring. I’m not boring, I may prefer to stay home and read most nights, but I know I’m not a bore. Dyeing my hair back to brown is not going to magically turn me into a frumpy boring girl, just like bleaching my hair did not turn me into a social butterfly.

Now I just have to wait for my hair stylist to come back from maternity leave and hope that she doesn’t want to ring my neck when I ask to look at the color book for a brown. Hopefully I won’t have to wait much longer…

Well, now that I’ve gotten all that hair talk off my chest…wow..what the heck are you guys still doing here reading the ramblings of this confused bitch about her hair? Goodness. Bless your hearts. 🙂 Have a great night and a great hair day tomorrow! LOL

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

Leave a Reply

