Day 316: Three’s Company

Hello wild ones! I’m wondering if you’ve figured out what our mystery topic is yet…if the title hasn’t scared you off yet the big reveal may.

For the past few weeks I’ve been reading a ton of books about polyamorous relationships. I think I’ve read every single one that Nicole Stewart has on Kindle and she’s got a bunch. She weaves a lovely story. Elle Everton has a few as well that are really great. I can’t really pinpoint exactly why I find them so fascinating, but it’s way more than just the super hot sex scenes (oh sheesh, V maybe you should skip this post).

Part of it is the dynamic, three lives intermingled in love. That’s three sets of emotions to navigate. Three different backgrounds to deal with. Three families to twine. Three of everything. I can barely manage to manage my own dang emotions, I can’t imagine having to deal with the emotions of two other people.

The lack of jealousy is another thing I find fascinating. Of course I can only go off of what she writes, but for the most part there is too much trust for any kind of jealousy to come into play. That doesn’t mean the three don’t get jealous of outsiders who may seem to be trying to weasel their way into the hearts of their loved ones, but there’s no jealous between the three in the love triangle.

Society of course comes into play because these kind of relationships are not the “norm.” So instead of just getting to be happy with their partners they have to worry about people finding out and how the outside world is going to react to their relationship.  That of course pisses me off, I’m of the mind set that as long as you aren’t hurting another living being then you should be allowed to love who you want. I’m not sure where people get the idea that is their business to judge how someone loves, but I think it’s silly. We need more love in the world people, just let people love who they want to freaking love!

Speaking of love…I think by now we all know I may just be obsessed with love. I don’t care what form it comes in, I just love love. It may not exactly be my cup of tea, but that doesn’t stop me from wanting to learn more about it. I honestly wish I knew people in a polyamorous relationship. I’d love to see the dynamic with my own eyes. For now I’ll just settle with reading about them.

If you’d like to check out some of the books that are my favorites, just let me know in the comments and I’ll point you in the right direction. Most of the ones that Nicole Stewart has are really well written with the exact right balance of showing you the inner workings of this complication situation, the love, and the steamy side.

Well, after two days of teasing I think that was all I had to say…did it live up to the hype?

Until tomorrow, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

3 thoughts on “Day 316: Three’s Company

Leave a Reply

