Walking Down Stuphin Boulevard

Hello wild ones! I hope your hump day is treating you well.

As you already know, if you keep up with the shit show that is my blog, this week I read Santino Hassell’s Stuphin Boulevard. Forewarning, this book is fraught with witty exchanges, hot dudes, hotter sex, and a ton of depressing insight into life.

I am in like with this book, but it did give me some serious pause. I love Santino’s style, he’s gritty, sassy, and super sexy all while still being completely real.

Our two MC’s, Michael Rodriguez and Nunzio Medici, have been best friends for 20 years. You would think in all that time that any kind of attraction would have made it’s self known by now, but you’d be wrong…sort of.

A drunken sort of threesome makes Mickey’s see Nunzio in a new light. While his best friend is away over the summer, he tries to deal with the fact that after being friends for so long he;s sexually attracted to his best friend.

Over the course of a few months these two start a casual affair, both pretending that it’s nothing more than sex while still leaning on each other to navigate through life. However, things take a turn when Michael’s father dies and he starts to spiral out of control.

I think this is the first book I’ve read that deals with substance abuse. I tend to stay away from books like this due to my family, but Michael’s alcoholism kind of sneaks up on him and the reader. I kept frowning every time he picked up a drink to deal/not deal with what was going on around him. Using alcohol and Xanax to numb himself turns into him pushing away the only family he has left, his brother Raymond and Nunzio. And then a run in at work with his team leader, David, turns into a full on breakdown resulting in an overdose.

It was all so beautifully tragic. You can feel the desperation and while I may not agree with his methods, I get wanting to numb yourself to the world. Michael searched for nothingness at the bottom of a bottle and I tune out the world in the pages of books like this. This one kind of backfired though, because I could see a little of myself in Michael.

After a stint in rehab our tragically fucked up Michael comes out knowing exactly what he needs to be happy, his job teaching and Nunzio, but he worries it’s too late.

Our very real MC gets a very real happy ending.

While this book bordered on depressing as shit, it was still entertaining. There were a few times I laughed, I smiled some, but gosh this one just made me think, which is what I really want in a good book.

I’m gonna give this one 4 stars and while we’re here I may as well tell you that I’m going to be reading the second book in this series for next week’s review.

Now I’m gonna go bury my head in another book, so I don’t have to deal with my own family drama or any of the other shit that’s going wrong in my life.

NIGHT!

Until later, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

Leave a Reply

