Feelin the Burn

Hello wild ones! I hope you week is going well. Shit, I still have so much stuff I need to try and get done before morning. Gotta do my laundry, then pack, write Friday’s blog post about the explosion box, so I can upload it quickly on Friday. Ugh, I’m sure there’s stuff I’m forgetting that I still have to do.

Enough of my procrastinating crap, on to the Hump Day Book Review!

So this week we’re talking about Slow Burn by Sam B. Morgan. Which falls into the OFY genre, if you’re wondering, which honestly are kind of my favorite.

We meet our first fine hero, Douglas ‘Brody”, while he is in pursuit of a lead on a strangler case he’s been working.  Our boy, man really, in blue blows out his knee during a chase and subsequently ends up at the rehab center where Zach works. They get assigned to each other because Brody is a cranky son of a bitch and a co-worker of Zach’s doesn’t want to deal with him.

Zach is the perfect blend of patient, snarky, and compassionate. Though there is a huge problem, Brody is a gay man living his life in the closet while Zach is out and proud and thinking that Brody is just another homophobic ass hat. Poor Brody battles his growing attraction to the smiling, floppy haired Zach by becoming an even bigger pain in the ass. until Zach makes him realize that he can’t fully recover without his help.

Brody pushes the attraction to the back of his mind and puts his full focus on getting back into working shape because unless he can pass his physical test he won’t be able to continue working on his serial strangler case.

Zach battles his own budding attraction to the snarling, smoking hot detective, but can’t seem to make himself stay away, which is why when Brody takes him up on his offer to continue training him after his PT he agrees. This is where we start getting to the good stuff folks.

After a heated glance, a race, and yet another lust loaded look from Brody, Zach makes a ballsy move and kisses his growly detective. It goes about as well as he expected at first, Brody pushes him away, gets pissy at him for daring to think he might be gay, and decides to leave.

The next time our dynamic duo get together things go a bit differently. Brody admits his attraction and that he’s gay, just in the closet and the two begin a very hot affair. Smoking hot.

Of course our two heroes can’t just run off into the sunset and live happily every after, oh no, that would be far too easy.  Brody has trouble at work, he’s been cleared to return to duty and is in even better shape than before his injury, but someone else has been paired with his partner for his case and he’s been reassigned. Though he tries to fight it, he’s told by his superior that he’s off the case and that he has to stay far away from anything involving the case or face the repercussions.

That does not sit well with the justice seeking, bull headed man and he starts doing some digging on his own. Zach advises against it because Brody’s job is being threatened, but instead of listening (like a rational fucking human being) Brody goes ape shit and pushes Zach too far with his obvious disregard. The two part ways in emotional turmoil.

I can tell you right now, I was so pissed at Brody. I wanted to slap the idiot, but of course I kept reading hoping they would reconcile. Of course they do…if they didn’t this review would be far more curse word filled and angry because I swear the first time I read a book that doesn’t have a happy ending I go all King Kong on the world.

After a near death experience Brody realizes that what is really important, Zach, and sets out to win him back. And then they kind of skip off into the sunset hand in hand, well actually it’s to a lunch date that Brody’s partner crashes. Guys, Brody comes out for Zach. It’s beautiful. Ah.

You know I’m a sucker for a sweet love story with a side of steam. This one was not over the top sweet in the slightest, it was the perfect blend of sweet and spice, for me anyway. Brody was the rough, tough, snarling beast that I love to see tamed into a purring pussy cat by his smiling, easy going, and lovable counterpart.

So to Slow Burn I bestow 4.5 Hump Day Stars. I’ll read this again, and again, and again, and again, and again. As a matter of fact, I may very well read it again tonight after all of my shit gets done…well if all my shit gets done. HA!

Alright, next up is going to be A Rookie Move by Sam B. Morgan, another boys in blue book because who doesn’t love a man in uniform!

A Rookie Move by [Morgan, Sam B.]

Fifteen years with the Los Angeles Police Department, Mike Graham is a seasoned cop and a damn good training officer. On the brutal streets of LA, he’s witnessed every type of crime and taught countless rookies how to survive while they protect and serve. Nothing surprises him anymore. That is, until he meets Nathan York.

Nathan York shouldn’t be a cop. With his Beverly Hills background and pretty boy good looks, he’s fit for the land of movie stars and nose jobs. Too bad being LAPD is all he’s ever wanted. No longer a rookie, he thinks he’s ready for anything, even if the next challenge is working with his hard-assed yet magnetic ex-training officer.

Partners on the job, Mike and Nate both struggle with an attraction that has no place in their world. Their explosive chemistry reaches a point it cannot be ignored, but the same chemistry that consumes them could destroy the very thing that binds them together.

 

Now I gotta scoot into my room and gather up my dirty clothes, so I can get those sorted and while they’re washing I’ll get Friday’s blog post ready. Wish me luck!

Don’t forget to go follow my on Instagram to see what Cassilee, Corbin, and I get up to this weekend (I know for a fact that we’re doing at least one craft project). Check out my Goodreads profile to see what else I’m reading this week. And if you’ve got snapchat, go find me @crazydame90 to see the silly videos and pictures I send out.

Night kids!

Until later, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

 

Leave a Reply

