Putting the Moves on the Rookie

Hello wild ones, welcome to another Hump Day Book Review. This week we’re reviewing Rookie Move by Sam B. Morgan. Another wonderful book about the boys in blue living in the closet.

I wanna say this book falls under the GFY genre, which is kind of my favorite, though typically it’s not actually GFY it’s more, I realize that I’m bisexual for you. But that doesn’t really have a nice ring to it and the acronym would be ridiculous, IRTIBFY. No one is going to remember that, so I’m gonna just say its’ GFY and move on to explaining that this particular novel is also, OFY. Okay, let’s just move on to the book talk.

We first meet our two heroes, I mean literal heroes because these boys are cops (I’ve mentioned my before how much I love a man in uniform), while Nathan York, our young rookie, is out in the field and under attack with his partner and training officer, Mike Graham. In our introduction we find out that Mike is gay and has been living in the closet for years due to his career and has a strong attraction to his “boot” which is what he calls his trainee. In my opinion this opening should have just been a prelude, because in chapter 2 we skip forward 7 months, when the bulk of our tale takes place, but maybe that’s just me.

So 7 months have passed, Nathan is through with training and has been partnered with his TO, Mike. Of course not much has changed in their working relationship, Mike still treats Nate like he’s his trainee and he’s battling his growing attraction to the younger man. Nathan in the mean time is just dealing with his girlfriend’s growing disappointment in his choice to be apart of the police force.

Something kind of shifts in Nate when on their patrol they come across a gay man being beaten up by a bigger guy. Mike, he realizes, never gets more angry than when they break up a gay bashing, so he starts to maybe wonder if his partner has a secret. Meanwhile, Mike is starting to realize that he needs to distance himself from Nate because, “The last couple of months had been a steady decline into spending at least eight hours a day obsessing over Nate’s safety and the other sixteen trying not to think about what he looked like naked.” Need I say more?

And then things get a little more confusing when they have a little spat in the locker room that leaves Mike convinced he needs to ask for a new partner and Nate trying to run his confusing thoughts away. Poor Nate, no amount of running up and down hills could chase away the thoughts swirling around his head about his partner and the heated gaze they’d exchanged.

Not one to just sit idle, Nate charges ahead with a plan to make Mike tell him what’s been going on and why Mike is starting to pull away. That plan goes up in flames when Mike kisses him and then the proceed to make out like horny teenagers in Mike’s kitchen, that is until Nate tries to take it further and Mike once again pulls away and tells Nate he needs to leave and forget anything happened.

I have to mention that there is a brief little cheating going on here, Nate is still with his girlfriend Taylor at the time of the making out and ordinarily that would have chased me off, but to be honest I was past the point of caring, I just wanted to see how things worked out between the two boys in blue and lucky for me right after the heated smooch, Taylor and Nate break things off, so the other kisses and obvious sex are not cheating.

Things get hot and heavy between the sizzling duo quickly after that. Once again, our poor heroes don’t get to ride off into the sunset together just yet. Some shit of course has to go down before they get to be happy. Firstly, they’re called to a scene where a young boy has hung himself. Seeing the boy, who ended his life due to the adverse reaction his family has to him being gay, seriously affects Nate.

Of course, he doesn’t come out and tell Mike what the problem is, no of course not, that would be too easy. If these freaking people ever just actually talked to one another they’d have less problems. Anyway, Nate takes a few days off, pretending to be sick, to deal with his emotions over the dead boy and then shit takes a seriously bad turn when Mike comes to check on him and sees Taylor walking with him. Cue the dramatic music.

Then it’s Mike’s turn to avoid Nate, but then Nate gets his chance to explain and blah blah blah the two get back together. I’m sorry for the blah, blah, blah, but seriously sometimes reading the same basic plot stuff over and over can get to a girl.

I’m not saying that I don’t like this book, because I really do. I think I’m just going through a little reading slump where I’m getting bogged down in the seemingly never ending cliches. I know I’ll be over it in like 2 minutes.

This one has a happy ending, duh, the pair are living together and have made the decision to come out to their partners, so they’re not living in the closet to those in their immediate circle. Very cute.

I’m giving this one 4 Hump Day Stars. Go check it out. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

On to the next one, Changing Lines by R.J. Scott.

Changing Lines (Harrisburg Railers, #1)

Can Tennant show Jared that age is just a number, and that love is all that matters?
The Rowe Brothers are famous hockey hotshots, but as the youngest of the trio, Tennant has always had to play against his brothers’ reputations. To get out of their shadows, and against their advice, he accepts a trade to the Harrisburg Railers, where he runs into Jared Madsen. Mads is an old family friend and his brother’s one-time teammate. Mads is Tennant’s new coach. And Mads is the sexiest thing he’s ever laid eyes on.
Jared Madsen’s hockey career was cut short by a fault in his heart, but coaching keeps him close to the game. When Ten is traded to the team, his carefully organized world is thrown into chaos. Nine years his junior and his best friend’s brother, he knows Ten is strictly off-limits, but as soon as he sees Ten’s moves, on and off the ice, he knows that his heart could get him into trouble again.

And I’m always on the lookout for new books, so if you have something you think I should read just leave your suggestions in the comments below. If you’re not already following me on Instagram, head over and check out what I’ve got going on. Check out my Goodreads profile to see what else I might be reading this week. If you’ve got snapchat go find me crazydame90 and she the silly shit I get up to.

Well, I’m gonna say good night kids. I’ve got some stuff done before my work day is over. Night!

Until later, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

Leave a Reply

