Hey Bartender

Hello wild ones and welcome to another Hump Day Book Review. This week we’re reviewing Trust with a Chaser by Annabeth Albert.

Trust with a Chaser (Rainbow Cove, #1)

I’m an Annabeth fan, so when I saw this new release I had to jump on it, I devoured this bad boy in just a couple of hours and loved every moment. Girlfriend knows what she’s doing.

You guys know I am a sucker for the gruff man with a gooey center and Nash Flint fits the bill perfectly. He’s the sheriff of the small town Rainbow Cove and a man nearing forty who has been living his with the closet door firmly closed, locked, and a key hidden away. That is of course, until Mason Hanks blows back into town with his fancy new pub, good looks, need for approval, and warm smile.

Mason Hanks has a troubled family, riddled with criminals and men convinced that the law is out to get them, but Mason knows the truth, no one is out to get the Hanks men, they just can’t keep themselves out of trouble. However rational thought flees the first time Sheriff  Flint comes into his little pub. He comes out of the kitchen to let the gruff, buff, and insanely hot Sheriff that all his permits are in order and no one is looking for trouble. Nash is just looking for lunch, not to start trouble with the youngest Hanks, though trouble finds him just the same. Mason is trouble and not the usual kind, he’s far to tempting for the man who’s been living his life in the closet for nearly forty years.

Both men know they should stay away, but are powerless to stick to their vow to leave the other alone. What ensues is pages and pages of wonderfully written tension, stolen glances, hot alley kisses, and longing.

I wish I could tell you that this one is angst/drama free, but its not. Nash is firmly in the closet and has no plans to come out anytime soon, so he and Mason share late night cooking lessons that devolve quickly into hot sex on any available surface. But hot sex aside, their tryts leave Mason wanting more than early set alarms, so they can sneak back to their respective homes without nosy neighbors becoming aware of what’s going on. He wants a real relationship with the smoking sheriff and the fact that he may never get it becomes more apparent when they take a little trip to the city together and Mason has to literally hide from Nash’s mother.

Ugh, guys, that part made me so freaking sad. I hate, hate, hate the shit these books make me face sometimes. Seriously, it pisses me off that the world is so damn unfair to those who are different. Anyway, things only get worse when Mason’s brother is arrested and his niece is taken into custody by child services and Nash can’t help Mason. His hands are tied by his job, but to Mason is just feels like the world is coming down around his ears and his partner, the man he loves, doesn’t give a shit enough to help.

An argument breaks the two apart because Mason can’t understand why Nash won’t forsake his scruples to help in a terrible situation. Mason goes on to fight to get his niece and Nash tries to figure out what he is supposed to do when the man his job comes between him and the man he loves.

In a surprising show of support, well not that surprising actually, but ya get me, Nash comes to the custody hearing along with Mason’s other friends. Love conquers all people.

This book was delicious, unlike last week’s hot mess, this book had just the right amount of titillating anticipation and back and forth between our main characters. We’re gonna give this one 4 Hump Day Stars. It was just what I needed after last week’s disaster.

Okay, on to the next one!!!! Guys, GUYS!!! Illegal Contact by Santino Hassell came out!! It’s going to be next week’s Hump Day Book Review because I have been waiting for this one for what seems likes ages!

Illegal Contact (The Barons, #1)

The rules of the game don’t apply off the field in this first Barons novel. 

New York Barons tight end Gavin Brawley is suspended from the team and on house arrest after a video of him brawling goes viral. Gavin already has a reputation as a jerk with a temper on and off the field—which doesn’t help him once he finds himself on the wrong side of the law. And while he’s been successful professionally, he’s never been lucky when it comes to love.

Noah Monroe is a recent college grad looking for a job—any job—to pay off his mounting student debt. Working as Gavin’s personal assistant/babysitter seems like easy money. But Noah isn’t prepared for the electrifying tension between him and the football player. He’s not sure if he’d rather argue with Gavin or tackle him to the floor. But both men know the score, and neither is sure what will happen once Gavin’s timeout is over…

I’m so excited about this one! Alright kids, I got some other stuff to get done, but we are going to address the fact that I suck big donkey balls on Friday, be assured. For now be content with the fact that I am beating myself up over the fact that I can’t seem to get my damn posts out on time.

If you haven’t already, go follow me on Instagram to check out the shit I’m up to this week. Check out my Goodreads profile to see what else I’m reading. And if you have snapchat add me to see the crazy stuff I use those filters for. Night kids!

Until later, stay wonderfully wild!

Chels

Leave a comment